Clubs from Série A and B that have never won the Brasileirão title

Bahia captured the first Brasileirão in 1959, initiating a tradition of annual championship battles.
Desmond Efe-Khaese
2024-04-13 11:57:39

The 2024 Brasileirão lineup is finalized, with Santos facing its first relegation in history. The league’s structure now includes 124 clubs across Series A, B, C, and D, with Atlético-GO, Criciúma, Juventude, and Vitória moving up to Serie A. Despite 82 clubs never winning the National Trophy, the competition remains fierce.


++ The danger of relegation in Brasileirão: The league where even the giants can fall

++ Six teams Abel Ferreira believes could contend with Palmeiras for the 2024 Brasileirão title

++ Where to watch Brasileirão 2024 on TV and online outside of Brazil?

Clubs that have never won the Brasileirão

In Serie A, clubs like Fortaleza, Juventude, and Vitória are yet to win the championship, adding intrigue to the 2024 season. With the lineup set, here are teams in 2024 Brasileirão Série A and B alongside the clubs in each group that have never won the competition:

Teams in Série A: Athletico, Atlético-GO, Atlético-MG, Bahia, Botafogo, Bragantino, Corinthians, Criciúma, Cruzeiro, Cuiabá, Flamengo, Fluminense, Fortaleza, Grêmio, Internacional, Juventude, Palmeiras, São Paulo, Vasco, and Vitória

Teams that have not won in Série A:  Bragantino, Criciúma, Cuiabá, Fortaleza, Juventude, Vitória, and Atlético-GO.

Teams in Série B: Amazonas, América-MG, Avaí, Botafogo-SP, Brusque, Ceará, Chapecoense, Coritiba, CRB, Goiás, Guarani, Ituano, Mirassol, Novorizontino, Operário, Paysandu, Ponte Preta, Santos, Sport, and Vila Nova.

Teams that have not won in Série B: Amazonas, Avaí, Botafogo-SP, Brusque, Chapecoense, CRB, Ituano, Mirassol, Novorizontino, Operário, Paysandu, Ponte Preta, and Vila Nova.

Clubs and number of titles won

Note that the CBF recently recognized Atlético-MG’s 1937 Tournament of Champions win as a national title, adding to their 1971 and 2021 victories. Bahia won the first-ever Brasileirão in 1959. So far, here are the winners and their number of titles won:

  • Palmeiras (13)
  • Santos (8)
  • Corinthians (7)
  • Flamengo (7)
  • São Paulo (6)
  • Cruzeiro (4)
  • Vasco da Gama (4)
  • Fluminense (4)
  • Internacional (3)
  • Atlético Mineiro (3)
  • Grêmio (2)
  • Botafogo (2)
  • Bahia (2)
  • Guarani (1)
  • Athletico (1)
  • Coritiba (1)
  • Sport (1)