How many World Cup Mascots do you remember?

There are 15 mascots in World Cup history
Josué Seixas
2022-11-16 21:27:14

This year’s World Cup starts next Sunday, November 20th, with the match between Qatar and Ecuador, at the Al Bayt stadium. The final is scheduled for December 18th, at the National Stadium in Lusail. Sambafoot brings you all the mascots that the World Cup has had as a warm-up to the games.

This year, the mascot of the World Cup in Qatar is the friendly La’eeb, an art that refers to the traditional head scarves of Arab culture. This is the 15th mascot in the history of the World Cups, because the World Cups between 1930 and 1962 did not have the item in the promotion of the tournament.

The first football World Cup took place in 1930, when Uruguay, playing at home, won the title, beating Argentina 4-2 in the  final.  The history of World Cup mascots started only after the 1966 World Cup in England.

See below all the mascots in the history of the World Cups:

1966 World Cup (England): Willie

1970 World Cup (Mexico): Juanito Maravilla

1974 World Cup (West Germany): Tip and Tap

1978 World Cup (Argentina): Gauchito

1982 World Cup (Spain): Naranjito

1986 World Cup (Mexico): Pique

1990 World Cup (Italy): Ciao

1994 World Cup (USA): Stryker

1998 World Cup (France): Footix

2002 World Cup (South Korea and Japan): Ant, Kaz and Nik

2006 World Cup (Germany): Goleo VI and Pille

2010 World Cup (South Africa): Zakumi

2014 World Cup (Brazil): Fuleco

2018 World Cup (Russia): Zabivaka

2022 World Cup (Qatar): La’eeb