Samba Gold 2022 is coming! The 15th edition is full of news

Find out who will be nominated for this year's award and stay tuned for voting dates
Josué Seixas
2022-12-02 14:09:46

The Samba Gold award reaches its 15th edition in an atypical year in world football, after all, the 2022 World Cup takes place right at the end of the year, in the middle of the European season and with Brazilians eyeing the sixth title in Qatar.

Soon, the 15th Samba Gold award will have its nominees revealed for voting. The trophy awards, every year, the Brazilian athletes who stood out abroad. Neymar is the biggest winner, with five achievements, as well as the current two-time champion of the award, winning in 2020 and 2021.

The analysis criteria are the statistics, the achievements obtained and the general impact that the athlete had in his club during the evaluation year.

Vote for Samba Gold 2022

The most awaited day is coming! But before choosing your favourites, Sambafoot will release many new features for this edition.

As of December 6, the site reveals what’s new in 2022 and also tells when the nominees will be announced and the voting starts.

All of this will be available on the official Samba Gold page – -, which will award the 2022 winners with a personalized award trophy.

History of the Samba Gold Award

Created by the Samba Agency (Sambafoot) in 2008, the Samba Gold Award was designed to award the best Brazilians who play outside the country, since most fans cannot follow the athletes around the world, except in the big leagues.

Samba Gold had former midfielder Kaká, then at Milan, Italy, as its first winner. Currently, the prize has already been awarded to eight different athletes in the male category and, in 2021, the female category took place for the first time, which Gio Queiroz, from Levante, Spain, and the Brazilian national team, got the trophy.

Samba Gold Winners So Far

The current champion of Samba Gold is the number 10 of PSG and the Brazilian national team, Neymar, who reached his fifth achievement in 2021, the year that also had the debut of the women’s award. Young Gio Queiroz, 18 years old, was elected while playing for Levante, Spain. See the complete list:

  • 2021 – Neymar (PSG)
  • 2020 – Neymar (PSG)
  • 2019 – Alisson Becker (Liverpool)
  • 2018 – Roberto Firmino (Liverpool)
  • 2017 – Neymar (PSG)
  • 2016 – Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)
  • 2015 – Neymar (Barcelona)
  • 2014 – Neymar (Barcelona)
  • 2013 – Thiago Silva (PSG)
  • 2012 – Thiago Silva (PSG)
  • 2011 – Thiago Silva (Milan)
  • 2010 – Maicon (Inter de Milão)
  • 2009 – Luís Fabiano (Sevilla)
  • 2008 – Kaká (Milan)

With this list full of stars, you already know that the 15th edition of Samba Gold will be full of big names in Brazilian football!

Who will take home the trophy this year? Keep an eye on the Sambafoot website and the official page of the award to check out the news that will be revealed soon!