Gabriel Jesus wins Bola de Prata award for best player in the Brasileirao

by Sambafoot
12/12/2016 7:55 PM

Manchester City bound Gabriel Jesús has won the Bola de Prata award for the best player in the Brasileirão for 2016. The 19 year old was elected in a ceremony on Monday, after his 12 goals helped fire Palmeiras to the league title.

Robinho, formerly of Manchester City, Real Madrid and AC Milan, came second. Jesús, who will join City in January, said, “It’s a great emotion to be here. I am very happy to be able to receive this individual award,

“But I have had the help of my team mates. I would not even imagine it in a dream. I dedicate this to God, my mother, my friends, to Palmeiras.” The awards are decided according to average ratings awarded by ESPN journalists over the course of the season.

Attackers Fred, William Pottker and midfielder Diego Souza won the top scorer award. Each scored 14 goals throughout the championship. The inaugural Bola de Prata for women’s footballers was won by 38 year old Formiga, who participated in her 6th Olympic games this year.

Palmeiras’ Cuca won the best coach award and the team of the year was as follows:

Jaílson (goalkeeper – Palmeiras)

Jean (right-back – Palmeiras)

Geromel (defender – Grêmio)

Réver (defender-Flamengo)

Fábio Santos (left-back- Atlético-MG)

Tchê Tchê (midfielder-Palmeiras)

Willian Arão (midfielder-Flamengo)

Dudu (midfielder – Palmeiras)

Moses (midfielder- Palmeiras)

Robinho (attacker – Atlético-MG)

Gabriel Jesus (attacker – Palmeiras)

Cuca (coach-Palmeiras)


Icon Grey Chat