Why is Marta not playing for Brazil in the Concacaf W Gold Cup 2024?

Many wonder why the Brazilian legend is not representing the women's team in the Concacaf tournament
Martín O'Donnell
2024-02-21 16:05:12

Brazil are one of the four Conmebol teams who received an invitation to take part in the Concacaf W Gold Cup 2024 which takes place from February 10 to March 10 in the United States. But this time, fans won’t be seeing the legendary Marta playing for the Brazilian side.

The six-time FIFA World Player of the Year said she was retiring from international football last year, following Brazil’s group stage elimination at the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. “Marta ends here,” she said after Brazil’s 0-0 draw with Jamaica in the group stage finale. “I am grateful for the opportunity I had, and very happy with everything that has been happening with women’s football in Brazil and the world. For me, it’s the end of the line now, for them, it’s just the beginning.

“Brazilian people asked for renewal, it is being renewed, the only old woman is me, and maybe Tami is next to me. Most of the team is made up of talented girls with a huge road ahead of them. I end here, but they continue.”


++ Brazilian Women’s National Team is called up to the Gold Cup; Marta is out
++ Brazil will face Puerto Rico in the Copa Ouro debut
++ The Brazilian Women’s Supercup sets a new attendance record

However, Marta returned to the team after that tournament. This time, Arthur Elias changed his mind and decided not to include the veteran star on the squad. Marta, meanwhile, is reportedly preparing to take part in the Paris 2024 Summer Olympics.

Brazil’s squad for the W Gold Cup 2024


  • Letícia – Corinthians
  • Luciana – Ferroviária
  • Amanda – Fluminense


  • Rafaelle – Orlando Pride
  • Lauren – Kansas City
  • Antonia – Levante UD
  • Tarciane – Corinthians
  • Thaís Ferreira – Tenerife
  • Yasmim – Corinthians
  • Bia Menezes – São Paulo


  • Ary Borges – Racing Louisville
  • Aline Milene – São Paulo
  • Duda Sampaio – Corinthians
  • Julia Bianchi – Chicago Red Stars
  • Vitória Yaya – Corinthians


  • Duda Santos – Ferroviária
  • Adriana – Orlando Pride
  • Geyse – Manchester United
  • Bia Zaneratto – Kansas City
  • Debinha – Kansas City
  • Gabi Nunes – Levante UD
  • Gabi Portilho – Corinthians
  • Aline Gomes – Ferroviária