Groups are defined and the Brazilian women’s team prepare for the 2022 Copa America

Also, learn a bit more about the competition's history.
2022-04-14 17:56:03

The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) announced the 2022 Copa América Feminina groupings on April 7.

The Brazilian team’s group will not be simple, with Argentina and Uruguay standing in the path of Guerreiras do Brasil.

The squad, on the other hand, has done an excellent job of preparing for the most significant tournament in South America. Brazil, for example, put up a fantastic performance on April 7th, drawing 1-1 with a formidable Spain squad, led by Marta.

Between the 8th and the 30th of July, Colombia will host the ninth edition of the Copa América Feminina in the competition’s history. Cali, Bucaramanga, and Armenia are the three cities where the games will be played. Cali will host the tournament’s whole finale.

The 10 competing teams were divided into two groups, each with five nations. Each group’s top two players progress to the semifinals. The Copa America will also serve as a qualifying tournament for the Women’s World Cup, which will take place in Australia and New Zealand in 2023.

The continental tournament’s champion, runner-up, and third-placed champion all earn a direct spot in next year’s World Cup, while the third-placed teams in groups A and B compete for fifth place and, as a result, face the fourth place in the finals as a sort of Cup play-off.

The winning country will receive US$ 1.5 million (roughly R$ 7.1 million at current exchange rates), while the runner-up will receive US$ 500 thousand (roughly R$ 2.3 million).

Copa America groups

Heading into the tournament, Brazil were placed in the so-called “group of death,” with Argentina and Uruguay. See how the two groups of the 2022 Women’s Copa America fared below.

Group A

  • Colômbia;
  • Chile;
  • Equador;
  • Paraguay;
  • Bolívia.

Group B

  • Brazil;
  • Peru;
  • Venezuela;
  • Argentina;
  • Uruguay.

About the Women’s Copa America

The Copa América Feminina is the main tournament between South American football teams. It was first held in 1991. In December 2020, Conmebol – responsible for the entire organization of the competition – announced that the tournament would be held every two years, instead of every four years, from the 2022 edition.

Brazil are the greatest champion in the history of the Women’s Copa America, with 7 titles. Argentina comes next, with just one victory. Check out below how, in detail, all the editions of the history of this important competition were.





1991 Brazil Brazil Chile
1995 Brazil Brazil Argentina
1998 Argentina Brazil Argentina
2003 Peru Brazil Argentina
2006 Argentina Argentina Brazil
2010 Equador Brazil Colômbia
2014 Equador Brazil Colômbia
2018 Chile Brazil Chile

As a result, Brazil have only lost one edition of the Copa America Feminina thus far. Tupiniquim are the overwhelming favourites to win the championship once again for these and other reasons.

Based on Brazil’s recent friendly against Spain, the starting lineup for the selection should be: Lorena, Letcia Santos, Antônia, Tainara, Tamires, Angelina, Debinha, Marta, Kerolin, Geyse, and Duda Santos.

Will Brazil’s players win the Copa America for the seventh time in 2022? Here at Sambafoot, we’ll keep you updated on everything relevant regarding the Brazilian women’s squad.