Cup Special: Germans win the two-time Championship in the 10th edition of the tournament

At the 1974 World Cup, the Dutch player Johan Cruyff helped the Brazilian national team reach the semifinals.
2022-09-05 11:06:53

Sambafoot provides a look back at every World Cup edition as a warm-up for the 2022 tournament. This past week, we discussed the 1974 event, which was the ninth.

Germany hosted the 10th World Cup, which included 16 athletes, from June 13 to June 7. The tournament was held in nine German cities: Frankfurt, Munich, Stuttgart, Düsseldorf, Hamburg, Hannover, Gelsenkirchen, Dortmund, Düsseldorf, Frankfurt, and Western Berlin.

Following the conclusion of World War II (1939–1955), the leaders of the US and the USSR met and temporarily agreed to split Germany, the main conflict’s pivot, into two regions: the western region, where the World Cup was held (and was occupied by the US and its allies), and the eastern region (USSR).

Only in 1990, during the last stages of the Cold War, when tensions between the Soviet Union and the United States were at their highest, did the nation become united once again.

How was the 1974 World Cup

The Netherlands, a team that finished in second place, received the most criticism at the 1974 World Cup. After being absent for 36 years, the legendary team, known as the “mechanical orange,” made a comeback in the most significant football tournament in the world.

The Dutch national team played aggressive and unconventional football for the time under the leadership of Johan Cruyff, the great name of the competition. The “Dutch carousel” strategy assumed that players could move freely about the field without taking up a certain position.

This wasn’t enough for the side coached by the renowned Rinus Michels to win the World Cup since the home owners also fielded a potent squad that included notable figures in the annals of international football.

Germany Champion

With players like Sepp Maier, Paul Breitner, Franz Beckenbauer, and Gerd Müller, the home’s proprietors had a true thymade. Western Germany likewise benefited from competing in front of their supporters and won the tournament without a loss.

In the group stage, the Germans defeated Chile, Australia, and East Germany by scores of 1-0, 3-0, and 1–0, respectively. Yugoslavia (2-0), Sweden (4–2), and Poland all claimed victories in the second round (1-0).

The Germans defeated the Netherlands 2-1 to win the major match, which was contested in the Munich Olympic Stadium in front of an estimated 75,000 spectators. Breitner and Müller scored for Germany.

The Brazil Campaign

Brazil failed not get to the World Cup final but had a strong tournament despite being in fourth place. See how the national side performed in the World Cup.

  • Brazil 0-0 Yugoslavia (group phase);
  • Brazil 0-0 Scotland (group phase);
  • Brazil 3-0 Zaire (group phase);
  • Brazil 1-0 Eastern Germany (second phase);
  • Brazil 2-1 Argentina (second phase);
  • Brazil 0-2 Netherlands (second phase);
  • Brazil 0-1 Poland (3rd place dispute).

The eight participants from the first phase were split into two groups of four choices for the second stage of this event. The winner of each group would advance to the tournament’s championship game. In a few subsequent editions, this format remained the same.

Awards and curiosities

Johan Cruyff, a Dutch striker, was chosen as the competition’s top performer. Grzegorz Lato of Poland and Wladyslaw Zmuda of Poland won the prizes for best young player and top scorer (7 goals each). West Germany won the “Fair Play” award.

The World Cup National Team

Germany’s Maier, Vogs, Breitner, and Beckenbauer, Chile’s Figueroa, the Netherlands’ Krol and Neeskens, Poland’s Deyna, Germany’s Overath, Poland’s Lato, and Belgium’s Cruyff made up the 1974 World Cup squad (Netherlands).


  • Cady Germany played $ 50,000 as a prize for the title;
  • The 1974 World Cup was the 1st in which the goal balance was used as a tiebreaker;
  • The Netherlands players charged to give autographs to the fans;
  • Germany joined Uruguay, Italy and Brazil (only TRI) as the only teams to have more than one World Cup title until then.