• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

São Paulo 5x0 Uni. de Chile: Jadson inspires rout at the Morumbi

São Paulo 5x0 Universidad de Chile (Jadson 4' 76', Lucas 21', Luis Fabiano 28', Rafael Toloi 64') - Copa Sudamericana Quarter Final [agg. 7-0]

São Paulo completed a dominant victory over Universidad de Chile with a 5-0 victory at the Morumbi, inspired by the fluidity of attacking trio Jadson, Lucas Moura and Luis Fabiano.

The Brazilians came into the fixture with the reigning champions holding a 2-0 aggregate lead from the away fixture and made no mistake of finishing off the rout.

It was midfielder Jadson, who returned to Brazil from a succesful stint at Shakhtar Donetsk earlier this year, who led the way. After just four minutes, he picked the ball up in midfield and drove at the defence before firing a low shot into the corner past the helpless Johnny Herrera.

With twenty minuted on the clock, the lead was doubled and once more it was an incisive counter-attack that cut through the Chileans.

Lucas Moura, set to join PSG in January, picked the ball up from Arsenal-loanee Denilson and powered through some more hapless defending and slotted low past Herrera for his side's second. Within minutes, Luis Fabiano had added a third with a fine clipped finish from Wellington's well directed through-ball.

The game was won and as La U scrambled to restore respectibility, São Paulo manager Ney Franco was able to rest some of his side's key players ahead of future challenges.

The goals continued, though, as Rafael Toloi lashed home a wonderful free-kick shortly after the hour-mark, with Herrera once more blameless in conceding, while Jadson finished off the show with a tidy finish after fine work from left-back Cortez.

São Paulo now progress to the semi-finals, where they could be joined by fellow Brazilian side Grêmio, with a place in the 2013 Copa Libertadores offered to the tournament victors.

Internacional are the only previous Brazilian winners of the Copa Sudamericana, with the Colorado clinching success in the 2008 edition of the trophy.

SÃO PAULO: Rogério Ceni; Douglas, Rafael Toloi, Rhodolfo, Cortez; Denilson (Casemiro 63'), Wellington, Maicon, Jadson; Lucas (Ademilson 52'), Luis Fabiano (Willian José 55'). Coach: Ney Franco.

UNIVERSIDAD DE CHILE: Johnny Herrera; González, Acevedo, Rojas; Rodríguez, Aranguiz, Martínez (Videla 74'), Castro (Cereceda 46'), Lorenzetti (Magalhaes 36'); Ubilla, Gutierrez. Coach: Jorge Sampaoli.


Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top