Carlos Augusto is yet another Brazilian to win an Italian title for Inter in the 21st century; see the complete list

Nerazzurri defeated their archrival 2-1 on Monday afternoon (22) and secured their 20th Scudetto in their history
Josué Seixas
2024-04-23 15:08:38

On Monday afternoon (22), Internazionale won the Italian Championship for the 20th time in their history, beating Milan 2-1 at San Siro.

Acerbi and Thuram scored for the Nerazzurri, while Tomori reduced the lead for the Rossoneri in the second half.


++ Vinicius Junior scored his 100th professional goal in the game against Barcelona
++ Romário’s name has been published in the Daily Information Bulletin (BID) and he is eligible to play
++ Casemiro opens up about CR7, Messi, and praises Mbappé’s potential

Which Brazilians have been Italian champions for Inter in the 21st century?

In the 2000s, Inter was champion in five different seasons, lifting the trophy in 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2009-10. Goalkeeper Júlio César, a historic name for Inter, was present in all of them.

The forward Adriano, the Emperor, was champion in 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, and 2008-09. In the latter, he participated in half of the campaign, having been loaned to São Paulo between January and May 2008.

Another successful Brazilian player with Inter was right-back Maicon, Italian champion in 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2009-10. Left-back Maxwell was also part of three victorious seasons.

Midfielder Zé Maria, left-back César, and midfielder Mancini were also Italian champions for Inter in the 21st century. In the 2020-21 season, there were no Brazilian-born players in the squad.

Carlos Augusto joins the list

Revealed by Corinthians, left-back Carlos Augusto was loaned to Internazionale this season from Monza. He is expected to be bought permanently in the next transfer window.

Carlos Augusto was even considered by Fernando Diniz for the Brazilian national team in 2023. However, he is a substitute at Internazionale, behind Dimarco in the position battle.

Who are the biggest winners of the Scudetto?

The most successful team in the Italian Championship is Juventus, who have lifted the trophy 36 times, the last of which was in the 2019-20 season. With the conquest in 2023-24, Internazionale took the second position with 20 titles.

Milan completes the trio of giants in Italy, having been Italian champion 19 times. Genoa has 9 titles, followed by Pro Vercelli, Bologna, and Torino, all with seven. Napoli and Roma have won the Serie A three times, Fiorentina and Lazio twice, and Casale, Novese, Cagliari, Hellas Verona, and Sampdoria once.

Zagallo documentary

Sambafoot Series has launched a new documentary about the football legend Zagallo. Known as ‘Velho Lobo’ and as superstitious as it gets, Zagallo helped shape what Brazilian football is nowadays – as a player and as a coach. The first and second episodes is available in Sambafoot’s Youtube channel and the series will receive weekly releases to tell this legend’s life story.