Brazil won the U20 World Cup five times: who were the famous heroes

The five-time champion has not been conquered the world since 2011
Josué Seixas
2023-05-21 13:01:28

Brazil enters the U20 World Cup, which takes place between May 20 and June 11 in Argentina, as one of the main candidates for the title. The Canarinho team, by the way, is the second with more titles and is eyeing it’s sixth championship.

The tournament has 24 teams divided into six groups, so each group has four countries. The two best in each group and the four best third-placed teams – in the general classification – guarantee a place in the round of 16.


The Brazilian team won its first tournament title in 1983 and the last in 2011. In the case of a sixth title, the team equals Argentina as the greatest champion. The South American rival, by the way, has an even greater lack of titles, considering that he last won in 2007.

Remember Brazil’s titles in the U-20 World Cup:

  • > 1983

In a tournament based in Mexico, Brazil was coached by Jair Pereira and had a campaign close to perfection: five wins and a draw. In the final, the Brazilians beat Argentina 1-0, with a goal by Geovani (in a penalty kick). The former midfielder, who had spells at Vasco, was elected the star of the competition.

  • > 1985

The campaign in the following edition, held in the former Soviet Union, was even more impressive: 100% success rate, 14 goals scored and one goal conceded. The team commanded by Gilson Nunes defeated Spain in the decision, also by 1-0, with a goal by Henrique in extra time. Silas was crowned the best player of the tournament.

  • > 1993

In a tournament held in Australia, the third championship came authoritatively, with five wins and a draw. Júlio César Leal’s men won the comeback final, against Ghana, by 2 to 1. The best of the competition award went to Adriano.

  • > 2003

The tetra was won in the United Arab Emirates, under the baton of Marcos Paquetá. The hero status of the title went to Fernandinho, currently at Athletico-PR, who scored the winning goal by 1-0 over Spain in the final. Ismail Matar, from the host team, was chosen as the best player of the tournament. The Brazilian team had five wins, one draw and one defeat.

  • > 2011

The generation led by Ney Franco won the title in Colombia undefeated, with five wins and two draws. In an epic final, Brazil beat Portugal 3-2, with three goals from Oscar. Henrique Almeida, today at América-MG, won the competition’s best player award.