Phase 3 of the 2024 Brazil Cup was drawn: the round of 16 matches

32 teams will fight for a place in the round of 16.
Desmond Efe-Khaese
2024-04-18 18:24:12

This Wednesday (17th) the draw for the third phase of the Copa do Brasil 2024 took place at the headquarters of the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF) in Rio de Janeiro. In this way, we already know the 16 crosses that will define those classified for the round of 16.


++  Raphinha, revalued and with his future in the air

++ Flamengo and Inter strengthen against difficult rivals and lead the Brasileirão

++ Where to watch Brasileirão 2024 on TV and online outside of Brazil?

Fortaleza and Vasco da Gama will star in one of the most notable duels, although there will be other Serie A clubs that will face each other: Botafogo – Vitória, Internacional – Juventude and Bahía Criciúma. Below are the matchups (the teams on the right side will play the rematch at home):

  • Operário-PR vs Grêmio
  • Bahia vs Criciúma
  • Sampaio Corrêa-MA vs Fluminense
  • Sousa-PB vs Red Bull Bragantino
  • Goiás vs Cuiabá
  • Botafogo vs Vitória
  • Fortaleza vs Vasco da Gama
  • Flamengo vs Amazonas
  • Marabá Eagle vs São Paulo
  • Palmeiras vs Botafogo-SP
  • Ypiranga-RS vs Athletico-PR
  • International vs Youth
  • CRB vs Ceará
  • América-RN vs Corinthians
  • Brusque-SC vs Atlético-GO
  • Atlético Mineiro vs Sport Recife

Format, tiebreaker criteria and future matches in the Copa do Brasil

While the first two rounds were played in a single match, starting in the third phase, the Copa do Brasil has round-trip series. The 16th finals of this edition will take place from May 1 to 22.

In case of equality in the overall score, the winner will be determined through a penalty shootout. It should be remembered that the away goal is not a tie-breaking criterion and that, at the conclusion of this instance, a new draw will be held for the round of 16.

How the teams reached the 16th round

Twelve participants qualified for this stage without having to go through the previous phases: Atlético Mineiro, Botafogo, Red Bull Bragantino, Flamengo, Fluminense, Grêmio, Palmeiras and São Paulo (for having qualified for the CONMEBOL Libertadores), Athletico Paranaense (for their performance in the 2023 Brazilian Championship), Ceará (champion of the Copa do Nordeste), Goiás (winner of Copa Verde) and Vitória (champion of Serie B).

The other clubs came from the first two rounds. For the draw there were two bolilleros, which were formed as follows:

  • Pot 1: Atlético-GO, Atlético-MG, Athletico-PR, Bahia, Botafogo, Bragantino, Ceará, Corinthians, Cuiabá, Flamengo, Fluminense, Fortaleza, Grêmio, Internacional, Palmeiras and São Paulo.
  • Pot 2: Águia de Marabá, Amazonas, América-RN, Botafogo-SP, Brusque, CRB, Criciúma, Goiás, Juventude, Operário, Sampaio Corrêa, Sousa-PB, Sport, Vasco, Vitória and Ypiranga.

Remembering Zagallo

Sambafoot Series launched a new documentary about the football legend Zagallo. Known as ‘Velho Lobo‘ and as superstitious as it gets, Zagallo helped shape what Brazilian football is nowadays — as a player and as a coach.

The first episode is available on Sambafoot’s Youtube channel and the series will receive weekly releases to tell this legend’s life story.