Kenedy Escapes Ban For Cardiff Kickout
Newcastle winger Robert Kenedy will not face retrospective punishment after appearing to aim a kick at Cardiff City’s Victor Camarasa during Saturday’s 0-0 draw in Wales.
The Brazilian became embroiled in an off the ball challenge with Camarasa during the first half and aimed a kick at the back of the player’s legs.
The incident seemed worthy of a red card for violent conduct, but Kenedy was not carded, leading many to believe that he would be punished retrospectively by video panel.
However, since referee Craig Pawson awarded a free-kick, the incident is deemed to have been dealt with by the match official.
If the panel feel the incident has been seen and dealt with by the match official, they do not administer retrospective punishment.
Kenedy’s afternoon finished on a sour note, as he missed a 96 th minute penalty, denying his team a precious 1-0 victory.