All about Brazilian football

2023 Samba Gold Award

The Brazilian fans chose and 2023 Samba Gold has the best Brazilian player in the world: Vinícius Júnior. Attacker was the most voted by the public and won the trophy for the first time.

The Samba Gold has been awarded since 2008 to the year’s best Brazilian player. It’s a way of valuing Brazilianness and the players who take our Brazilian style to the four corners of the planet. Finalists are chosen based on the athlete’s statistics, achievements and impact throughout the year.


2023 Winner

Winners' podium Samba Gold Award

2023 Edition

Vinícius Júnior

Winner - 2023 Samba Gold


Vini Jr.

2023 Winner

Vinicius Junior is the winner of the 2023 Samba Gold Award. For the first time in his career, the Real Madrid star is recognized in the traditional contest involving the best Brazilians in international football, with a trophy created in 2008.

Previously, Vinicius Junior’s best performance at Samba Gold had taken place in 2021, when the striker trained by Flamengo finished in second place – at that time, behind the winner Neymar.

Read more

But this time it was Neymar who came in second place. The Al Hilal super star finished the voting ahead of defender Marquinhos, his former Paris Saint-Germain teammate, in third place.

The year 2023 had few collective trophies. Vinicius Junior helped Real Madrid win Spain’s Copa del Rey, in a victory over Osasuna in the final match. However, the 23-year-old Brazilian established himself as the main player in the most successful club in world football, especially after the departure of Frenchman Karim Benzema to the Saudi league.

However, football aside, Vinicius Junior stood out globally this year in his stance against racism. The match against Valencia in May in the Spanish league marked the culmination of this struggle. In social activities, the Brazilian player was also recognized at the recent Ballon D’Or ceremony, winning the Sócrates Award due to his work leading the Vinicius Junior Institute, which helps poor students in Rio de Janeiro.


See who has won the Samba Gold Award in the men’s category since 2008.

Other categories Samba Gold Award

In addition to the best Brazilian player in the world, Samba Gold also awarded the best Brazilian women player and the best under-20 player. Check out the other winners!


Tamires wins the third trophy in the women’s category


Marcos Leonardo wins the award for best under-20 player in Brazilian football