São Paulo win first major trophy of the year after beating Palmeiras on penalties

Under the command of Thiago Carpini, the Tricolor won the Super Cup via penalties after a 0-0 draw in regulation time
Josué Seixas
2024-02-05 13:02:54

São Paulo started 2024 and the post-Dorival Júnior era in the best way by winning the Rei Super Cup after beating Palmeiras on penalties. The final, of the formerly called Brazilian Super Cup between the champions of the Brasileirão and the Brazilian Cup, had ended goalless at the Mineirão stadium in Belo Horizonte.

The hero of the night was goalkeeper Rafael, responsible for saving two of the penalties, so that the Tricolor could lift this trophy for the first time in its history. The Colombian James Rodríguez did not travel with the squad, which fuels speculation of a possible departure, and Lucas Moura could not have been there either due to injury, who, on the contrary, did accompany his team and was seen euphoric after the title cheering as another supporter.


++ Santos get six-match closed-door ban for post-relegation riots
++ New Nike boots take inspiration from Ronaldinho’s iconic designs
++ Revealed: the stadiums to host the opening match and the final of the 2026 World Cup

It was the first champion cry for the young Thiago Carpini, chosen as an emergency coach after the departure of Dorival Junior to lead the Brazilian National Team. The players interrupted their post-match press conference to throw a cooler full of water at him, in a sign of the good complicity there is with the team.

With the victory, São Paulo replaces Palmeiras as the winner of the Super Cup and extends its dominance head-to-head, with a balance of 17 tricolor victories to 5 for Palmeiras in the 22 times they met in finals or knockouts.

Abel Ferreira could not equal the record

With the defeat of Verdão, who could not count on Endrick because he was with the U-23 team that is playing the Pre-Olympic Tournament, coach Abel Ferreira maintains his streak of titles won with the club at 9 and will have to wait to catch up with Oswaldo Brandao, which with 10 is the one that holds the institution’s record.

Both São Paulo and Palmeiras have already qualified for the group stage of the next Copa Libertadores and are currently competing in the Paulista Championship. Both lead their respective groups with 10 points after three wins and a draw in the first four rounds.