Samba Gold 2022 has started! The 15th edition is full of news

Brazilian young talents shine earlier and earlier in football, and now they will have the chance to compete in their own sport
Josué Seixas
2022-12-06 16:41:39

The 15th edition of Samba Gold has started and it’s full of news! The award is given to the best Brazilian playing outside the country, regardless of the continent.

In 2021, the women’s award made its debut and, this year, Samba Gold presents the newest Under-20 category, aimed at the most outstanding young player of the year in the country or abroad!

The men’s trophy exists since 2008 and has Neymar as the current winner. The women’s modality, which had Gio Queiroz as the first big winner in 2021, is going to its second edition.

And who will be elected the first great Under-20 player in the history of the award? In this new modality, athletes are allowed to play anywhere, including Brazil.

Dates and voting

Soon, on December 20th, we will announce the lists of twenty nominees in the three categories. On the 3rd of January, the voting begins. Stay tuned for dates so you can choose your favorite player!

Another new thing this year is the Samba Gold nomination and voting system, which will be divided into:

Electoral College: made up of a select group of professionals linked to the world of football, they are responsible for nominating nominees in each category;

Public voting: once voting starts, everyone can vote for their favorite in each category;

VIP voters: these are our special guests who, just like in public voting, also vote for their favorite athletes.

All votes have the same weight.


After the release of the lists of 20 candidates in each category (Men, Women and Under-20), voting will be opened. Only one (1) candidate from each category will be selected to take home the custom trophy! The big result will be announced in February 2023.

Our history

Since its creation in 2008, the Samba Gold award was given only to male players and, since last year, it has also elected the best female Brazilian player outside the country.

The first winner in the history of the award was former midfielder Kaká, who had 25.03% of the votes when he played for Milan, Italy. The biggest winner is Neymar, who won the award five times: 2014, 2015, 2017, 2020 and 2021.

Who will be the first winner of the new Sub-20 Samba Gold modality? Stay tuned so you don’t miss anything!