São Paulo deepened Corinthians’ crisis in the Paulista Championship

Tricolor defeated Timão 2-1 at the Neo Química Arena and arrives inspired to the final of the Brazilian Super Cup.
Desmond Efe-Khaese
2024-01-31 11:35:23

São Paulo beat Corinthians 2-1 at the Neo Química Arena, which allowed them to break the curse of 18 games and almost 10 years of not being able to win in that stadium. The team led by Thiago Carpini remains undefeated in the Paulista Championship after four rounds, while Timão extends its bad streak with three consecutive defeats.

The visitors opened the scoring in the 20th minute after a masterful assist behind the midfield by Wellington Rato, who Jonathan Calleri dominated in speed. The Argentine resisted the attack of a defender inside the area and crossed the ball with his left foot before Cássio came out.


+ + AS Monaco secures its future by extending Vanderson until 2028

+ + Casemiro remains focused on his goals with Manchester United

+ + Arsenal’s Gabriel Magalhaes finally awarded controversial goal in 5-0 rout of Crystal Palace

The situation for Corinthians became complicated shortly before the end of the first half due to the expulsion of central defender Caetano. After a VAR review, the referee gave him a red card for a hit against midfielder Luciano.

Already in the second half, São Paulo extended the lead with a header from Luiz Gustavo following a corner kick. The experienced 36-year-old footballer, one of the reinforcements for this 2024 season, had entered after the break and had only been on the field for six minutes.

Already in injury time, Arthur Sosa converted the injury time: he rescued a ball that was left without an owner after a free kick and at the height of the penalty spot he put it high up to inflate the net. It was a relief for Timão’s supporters, but it was not enough to reverse the defeat.

The victory emboldens the Tricolor that next Sunday will play against Palmeiras to define the Brazilian Super Cup, which pits the winner of the Brazilian Cup against the winner of the Brasileirão.