Remember how Argentina conquered three World Cup titles; the first one was 44 years ago

With the title won last Sunday (18), Argentina isolated itself with the only three-time champion of the World Cup
Josué Seixas
2022-12-21 11:46:27

Argentina ended a 36-year drought. Finally, the hermanos won the much dreamed World title. With the victory on penalties over France last Sunday (18), the team got closer to Germany and Italy in the ranking of biggest winners, leaving the French themselves and Uruguay behind.

1978 World Cup

Based in Argentina, it had the participation of 16 teams, in addition to the 107 countries that were present in the knockout stage. In Argentina’s group, Italy drew attention. It won all three games in the first phase. The hosts, on the other hand, triumphed only against Hungary and France. Qualified for the second phase: West Germany, Austria, Italy, Netherlands, Argentina, Brazil, Peru and Poland.

The Netherlands thrashed Austria, drew with West Germany and beat favorites Italy to earn a place in the final. In the Brazil and Argentina side, a lot of controversy. The Brazilian team triumphed against Peru, while the hermanos beat Poland. In the last round, Brazil also defeated the Polish team. With the result, Argentina needed to beat Peru by four goals apart, and it did, leaving the South American rival to dispute for the 3rd place.

The grand final, decided at the Monumental de Núñez Stadium, in Bueno Aires, had Argentina winning 3-1 against the Netherlands in extra time and winning its first World Cup title.

1986 World Cup

In the 13th edition of the World Cup, we had the participation of 24 countries divided into six groups of four participants each. From each group, the top two qualified directly to the round of 16. To complete the 16 rankings, the four third-placed teams with the best campaign won the spot by technical index. In total, 113 countries participated in the qualifiers.

Commanded by star Diego Maradona, Argentina won the 1986 World Cup title with an impeccable campaign. After seven games played, the Hermanos added six wins and a draw, with 14 goals scored and only five conceded.

In the debut, the Argentines beat South Korea by 3 to 1. In the second round, they drew 1 to 1 with Italy. Against Bulgaria, a quiet victory by 2 to 0. Guaranteed leadership and classification on the group.

Even with the great campaign in the first phase, the Argentine team did not escape a quarry in the round of 16: a classic against Uruguay. In a tough game, the hermanos won by 1 to 0. Next, a duel against England, and another victory: 2 to 1. In the semi, a quieter victory for the Argentines, 2 to 0 against Belgium.

In the final, Argentina vs Germany. A very disputed game, with emotion until the end. The hermanos dominated the first half, taking the lead with Brown. In the final straight, Valdano increased: 2 to 0. When the Germans seemed off the game, Rummenigge reduced and gave hope. Nine minutes later, Voeller equalized for Germany. Very marked, Maradona needed just one space to decide the match. In the 38th minute, the number 10 made a beautiful shot and found Burruchaga free to score the winning goal, giving them the second title in history.

2022 World Cup

After 36 years, Argentina is crowned three-time world champion. Defeated in the debut of the 2022 World Cup, the team led by Lionel Scaloni turned around and closed a cycle with a golden key.

In the grand final against France, Argentina had a gala first half, without any scares. The penalty converted by Messi in the 20th minute was a shower of cold water for the French, who still saw Di Maria score the second goal of the game. With 2-0 on the scoreboard, Deschamps didn’t wait for the break to move.

In a hurry, the changes had no effect. In the final stretch, what seemed to be under control turned into a nightmare for the Argentines. Mbappé showed the genius he is and in less than five minutes he scored two goals, taking the game into extra time. There, another tie: Messi and Mbappé scored for their national squads.

The dispute went to penalties. Argentina converted all the kicks. Coman and Tchouaméni wasted for France and the title was settled.