Fluminense and Manchester City announce players for the Club World Cup

Both teams are the favorites to meet in the final of the tournament that will be held from December 12 to 22 in Saudi Arabia
Josué Seixas
2023-12-07 12:14:00

Fluminense and Manchester City already have the Club World Cup on their horizon, which will be held from December 12 to 22 in Saudi Arabia. Both are the favorites to meet in a final that once again puts the Copa Libertadores champion and the Champions League champion face to face.

Among the 23 players on the Rio team’s list released by FIFA, there are few surprises. The main news is the exclusion of midfielder Leo Fernández and striker Lelê and the entry into their places of Thiago Santos and Daniel.

The team led by Fernando Diniz will debut on December 18 with a rival not yet defined. That club he will face will come from previous clashes between Al Ittihad of Benzema and Tavares, among others, and Auckland City of New Zealand, and the winner of that key will face the Egyptian Al Ahly.


++ Arthur Elias evaluates the Seleção’s games in 2023: “The balance is positive”
++ Aline Milene celebrates goal scored in the last friendly of 2023: “That’s Brazil”
++ Suárez reaches 800 official club games in his career as he bids farewell to Grêmio

De Bruyne is the surprise at Manchester City

On the Manchester City side, the main surprise is the registration of Belgian Kevin De Bruyne, absent since the start of the season. His return to the playing fields was scheduled for early next year, after suffering a relapse on August 11.

The Citizens will begin their path in the Club World Cup also from the semifinals, in which they will face the winner of the duel between the León club (Mexico) and the Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan). “It is a very important, very prestigious tournament,” said Pep Guardiola, City coach, in statements cited by FIFA.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Ederson, Stefan Ortega Moreno, Scott Carson.

Defenders: Rico Lewis, Kyle Walker, Manuel Akanji, Ruben Dias, John Stones, Nathan Ake, Josko Gvardiol, Sergio Gomez.

Midfielders: Kalvin Phillips, Rodrigo, Mateo Kovacic, Matheus Nunes, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva.

Forwards: Erling Haaland, Jack Grealish, Jeremy Doku, Julian Alvarez, Phil Foden, Oscar Bobb.