Who are the only two Brazilians to have won the Puskas Prize?

As the 2023 edition quickly approaches, a look back at the Brazilian players in the award history
Desmond Efe-Khaese
2023-09-24 10:25:24

Since the creation of the FIFA Puskas Prize in 2009 that rewards the best goal of the season through a vote, 22 players have been rewarded.

Among these 22 players, we find Cristiano Ronaldo, Ibrahimovic, James Rodriguez and others like Mohamed Salah. We also find two Brazilians, the only two to have won this trophy.


++ Former Manchester United Rafael compares the grass of Old Trafford and Botafogo’s Engenhão
++ Will Vinicius Junior play against Atlético Madrid next Sunday (24)?
++ Vitor Roque suffers injury in the Brazilian league and worries Barcelona

The only two standard bearers

For the first, we of course find Neymar with Santos and his masterpiece scored in 2011 against Flamengo, during the Ronaldinho era moreover. Not yet in his twenties, Neymar crossed the Mengao defense as if there was no one in front of him, carrying out a sequence of dribbles of which only he has the secret.
He then appeared on the podium twice, two consecutive years, in 2012 and 2013.

For the second Brazilian winner of the Puskas, it was in 2015. Less known than his compatriot Neymar, we find Wendell Lira from Goianésia EC, who managed to score a scissors in motion, in perfect balance, as we rarely see.

The beautiful game.