‘Call Messi? I’m Going To Celebrate!’ Jokes Dani Alves
Brazil captain Dani Alves says he has no intention of calling long-time Barcelona teammate Lionel Messi after guiding his country to Copa América victory.
The Seleção beat Argentina 2-0 in the semi-final on their way to lifting the title, but Messi was unhappy with the refereeing at the competition.
Argentina were denied two penalties in the defeat to Brazil and Messi was controversially sent off in the third-place playoff against Chile.
Messi suggested that the competition had been set up for Brazil to win by CONMEBOL. But Messi’s former Barcelona teammate was having none of it.
“I do not agree with what he said, and there are professionals who have worked hard in this competition, who have fought for it,” Alves told ESPN Brasil.
“We do not have to think about the things that the others say, even if it's Messi.” When asked if he would call Messi, Alves answered mischievously.
“Call him? For what? I will celebrate this title now. To win today we reaped the fruit from our work, we know that here and everywhere we live by the result, and when we do not win, we are criticised.”