Southampton goalkeeper Kelvin Davis says that Chelsea midfielder Oscar ‘didn’t need to dive’
The 37-year-old Saints stopper has criticised the 22-year-old Brazilian’s decision to take a tumble in an attempt to win a penalty for the Blues in Wednesday’s 3-0 victory at St. Mary’s Stadium.
Television pictures show that the Brazilian international threw himself to the ground when approaching Davis, leading referee Martin Atkinson to show the youngster a yellow card.
“He needn’t have done that. If he had gone passed me he could have scored. Maybe it's a habit of his because he felt he had the opportunity to get a penalty. To me, he dived, and that's why he didn’t get the decision he wanted. Thankfully the referee saw what he did, but I don’t like situations like this, because I could have been sent off,” said the Englishman.
Chelsea manager José Mourinho agreed with the referee’s decision to book Oscar.
“I think Oscar was waiting for the goalkeeper to collide, to touch him clearly and after that, without conditions to score he was looking for the penalty. It was a good decision by the referee.”
Oscar’s decision to go to ground rather than pass the ball into an empty net infuriated Chelsea fans, although he later redeemed himself by scoring Chelsea’s third, after strikes from Fernando Torres and fellow Brazilian Willian.