• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

Campeonato Paulista: São Paulo win as Ganso and Cañete impress


Both Paulo Henrique Ganso and Marcelo Cañete scored their first goals in a São Paulo shirt on Saturday night as the club beat Atlético Sorocaba to continue their 100 percent start to the Paulistão tournament.

São Paulo were the better side throughout, but failed to truly find top form as they rested the first eleven who had played so well in Copa Libertadores victory over Bolivar on Wednesday night.

The Morumbi was subdued in the early stages, but came alive in the 21st minute as Ganso created space for Argentine Cañete to fire at goal, with his shot well saved by opposition keeper Moretto.

Five minutes later and Ganso was creating opportunity once more, this time for right-back Paulo Miranda, who once more saw Moretto called into action. The keeper, though, could do nothing to stop Ganso turning home Cañete's ball into the area to give São Paulo a 1-0 half-time lead.

Atlético came on strongly in the second-half as Bruninho and Caesar both missed good early chances to level the score. Their profligacy would be punished as Cañete—who had been São Paulo's best player—fired a shot into the far corner of Moretto's net.

Atlético would, though, earn themselves a consolation goal shortly before full-time as Fabio Sanches capitalised on poor keeping from Denis to reduce the deficit. However, the goalkeeper would soon redeem himself with a fine late save from Junior Timbó to retain São Paulo's lead and earn his side a valuable three points.

SÃO PAULO: Denis; Paulo Miranda (Rodrigo Caio), Rafael Toloi, Edson Silva e Carleto; Casemiro, Maicon (Thiago), Ganso; Aloísio (Lucas Farias), Cañete e Ademilson. Coach: Ney Franco

ATLÉTICO SOROCABA: Moretto; Fábio Sanches, César, Tom, Edson Sittá; Da Silva, Gilberto Santos (Bruninho), Carlinhos (Jorge Preá), Willian Simões; Thiago Marques (Júnior Timbó), Rogério Balotelli. Coach: Estevam Soares

Results elsewhere:

  • Guarani 1-3 Ponte Preta
  • Linense 0-0 Ituano
  • Oeste 1-1 São Caetano

Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top