• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

Brazilians and Conca win second successive Chinese Super League title

Brazilians Cléo, Muriqui and Paulão have won a second successive Chinese Super League title, after a late 1-0 win over Liaoning Whowin secured the 2013 championship.

The trio, as well as former Fluminense star Darío Conca helped ensure that the club, only promoted back to the Chinese top-flight at the end of 2010, secured back-to-back titles with a week to spare.

Whilst Muriqui was forced to sit out the encounter at the Tianhe Stadium along with Paraguayan Lucas Barrios, with both players injured, the other three South Americans on show were involved as the Cantonese side attempted to win the title in-front of their home fans.

With second-placed Jiangsu Sainty only able to secure a 0-0 home draw with Beijing Guoan, a win was needed for Marcello Lippi's side to secure the title this weekend, but with only moments to go they were still unable to make a breakthrough.

It was former Brasileirão Player of the Year Conca who had gone closest, hitting the side-netting with a well struck free-kick, but a draw would have left a difficult away trip to Beijing next week to ensure title victory.

However, with just moments to go, Chinese national team striker Gao Lin brought down a pass and struck a stunning half-volley into the roof of the net from 20 yards, bringing the stadium to life and sparking wild celebrations.

Muriqui and Barrios would later make an appearance during the side's celebrations to participate in the festivities and thank the crowd for their support this campaign.


Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top