• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

2016 Copa América Centenário to be held in USA

Action Images
CONMEBOL have announced that a 16-team centenary edition of the Copa America will be held in the USA in 2016, involving six North and Central American sides.

The 2016 Copa America will be held in the United States, to celebrate the 100th year of the competition's existence, CONMEBOL have announced.

In a statement issued after a meeting held in Buenos Aires by the heads of the member federations and the CONMEBOL executive committee, it was announced that the tournament will be named 'Copa América Centenário'.

The tournament will feature sixteen sides, rather than the usual twelve, with the South American nations to be joined by Mexico, USA and four other North American sides to be determined by results in the 2015 Gold Cup.

It was also confirmed that Mexico and Japan would participate, as guest nations, in the Copa América of 2015, which will take place in Chile.

Japan have previously participated in the event, but pulled out of the 2011 edition of the tournament due to the devastating earthquake that hit the nation in the weeks leading-up to the competition in Argentina.


Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top