• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

Porto victorious in Dublin

Porto are the new Europa League champions
Action Images
A 44th minute header from Radamel Falcao helped Porto to a 1-0 win over Braga in the Europa League final on Wednesday night.

Falcao rose highest to nod in a cross from Freddy Guarin to secure the trophy for Porto, adding to their league title success and keeping them on course for a treble, with the final of the Taça de Portugal this Sunday against Vitória de Guimarães.


It was a rare moment of quality in a game that failed to live up to expectations. Porto, so often praised for their attacking talents this season, were not at their best going forward, but Braga were equally as poor in attack, and with chances at a premium, one goal always looked like being enough for Porto.


Braga had a fantastic opportunity at the start of the second half, when their Brazilian midfielder Mossoro broke free of the Porto back line, but saw his shot deflect away of the legs of his fellow countryman Helton.


This cagey, nervy affair saw many lapses in discipline, with eight players booked in total. Braga seemed to be targeting Hulk in particular, with the Brazilian the victim of numerous hard challenges.


Ultimately Porto held on, and there was joy for Hulk, Helton and Fernando. Despite their fairytale run, it ultimately ended in disappointment for Braga and their many Brazilians, with Mossoro, Artur, Paulao, Paulo Cesar, Lima, Alan and Kaka all featuring but unable to make the difference.


Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top