• Atlético Mineiro
  • Fluminense
  • Grêmio
  • São Paulo FC
  • Corinthians
  • Internacional
  • Vasco da Gama
  • Santos FC
  • Sport
  • Palmeiras
  • Atlético PR
  • Chapecoense
  • Ponte Preta
  • Avai
  • Cruzeiro
  • Flamengo
  • Figueirense
  • Goias
  • Coritiba
  • Joinville

Santos win the Campeonato Paulista

Neymar scored the crucial goal for Santos
Action Images
Goals from Neymar and Arouca helped Santos to beat Corinthians 2-1 and lift the Campeonato Paulista trophy for the nineteenth time.

After a 0-0 draw in the first-leg, both sides still had every chance of securing the title, and it was Santos who started brighter.


Ze Eduardo had a goal disallowed for a foul, before he was found out wide on the left by Leo and crossed low for Arouca to slot in his first goal for the club on 16 minutes.


The half finished 1-0 to Santos but Corinthians came out after the break with renewed vigour.


However, while they enjoyed more possession, the better chances were still falling to Santos, with Ze Eduardo, Alan Patrick and Neymar all going close.


They sealed the win on 84 minutes, and who else could it be but Neymar, with the talented young striker making it 2-0 thanks largely to poor goalkeeping from Julio Cesar.


Morais pulled a goal back for Corinthians shortly afterwards but it was not enough, and Santos were confirmed as the 2011 Campeonato Paulista champions.


Latest News.

  • All
  • Seleção
  • Teams
  • Players

    Football Forum

      To the top